The Day Before the Wedding: Good times. And Some Chaos, Too.

Not a great story if not some drama, right??

So one really good thing about our wedding venue is that I was able to get in there early–a day before to set up my tables EXACTLY how I wanted them.  So with the help of my sister, my sister’s best friend and sister’s boyfriend we hauled all of my DIY projects including 12 HEAVY boxes of pillar candles and vases to the BP Tower to unload and move up to the third floor via the building’s freight elevator. 
Photobucket
 Meanwhile….here is what the boys were doing:
Photobucket
 A 3 on 3 basketball tourney!!

So we worked to set up the room right up until the rehearsal was set to start. After moving and setting up I was filthy so at 7 p.m. I rushed next door to the hotel to shower and get dressed for our 7:30 p.m. rehearsal!!
Me overwhelmed!
Photobucket
Sister’s amazing friend Lonny sorting the pillars
Photobucket
Cocktail tables anyone?
Photobucket
Here are some photos from the rehearsal.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
After we ran through the ceremony basics twice we headed over to DVine Wine for cocktails and food.  This was for the bridal party and also for all of our out of town guests. It was a great time!  A woman actually pulled me to the side to say she and her hubby had their rehearsal dinner there years ago and they frequent DVine. She said she had not seen such a celebratory event there since her own rehearsal 7 years ago and said D’Vine was definitely a “lucky” place!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
After the rehearsal the boys did the bachelor party thing while me and some of the girls headed down to Cleveland’s Flats to the 2020 Martini lounge for some (more) good food and drinks and dancing. (Are you noticing a trend here!?)
Photobucket
More good times! But time escaped me and before I knew it, it was nearing midnight. Saturday. I was ready to check into my hotel suite and crash! So tired from that day. It was wedding day and I needed my beauty sleep! BUT… there was something very important I’d forgotten to do.

The bouquets. Totally exhausted and not happy I drove, accompanied by sister and sister’s friend, up into the suburbs to mom’s house to arrange the flowers. The other girls crashed while I sat in the basement and worked–ripping off leaves and dead petals and guard petals and taping together the flowers into 7 bouquets.  This process took two hours and I finished up at 3:00 a.m. Saturday–wedding day.

About to pass out, I threw two buckets in the back of my SUV and tossed the taped up bouquets into a box and into the trunk. I then headed BACK downtown to (finally) check into the hotel. Now it’s about 3:30 a.m. and as I am valeting my car I see who but my fiance (now hubby!!) and one of his groomsmen staggering into the hotel from the bachelor party.

I knew I was not supposed to see him the day/night before the wedding but I was so physically and mentally tired I felt like I needed to crash with him.  So even though the boys had a suite there we slept together the night before the wedding.  (Don’t worry–we SLEPT. Nothing else! Haha)

But before I laid down I filled the two buckets with water and put the taped up bouquets in them.  I was so pleased with how they had turned out and hoped they looked as good when I woke up. I would wrap them in fabric in the morning….
As you can see those spray roses came to life!! And I loved.loved.loved. the near-finished look of my DIY bouquets! Vibrant. Funky. Whimsical. Free form. Just what I had in mind…
Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

September 4, 2008. Tags: . Uncategorized.

5 Comments

  1. Kelly H. replied:

    Hi…

    I’ve been coming to your website since last year and would like to say that its been fun reading everything that you’ve put up…and seeing all the inspirations/ struggles/ decisions/celebrations/triumphs etc, etc.. that you’ve had to go through as a bride-to-be….

    Thank you for it all! Can’t wait to see more…
    And congratulations!!

    Kelly H.

  2. myclevelandwedding replied:

    Thanks so much Kelly! I am glad you’ve been following! I love to hear from you girls who read because I have no idea who looks at the blog. I am sooo happy it is helpful and I have A LOT coming in the way of wedding photos, TTD photos and bridals:)

  3. stlblackbride replied:

    Congrats on your nuptials!!!! I love your preview pictures! The flowers turned out beautifully. I can’t wait to read the rest.

  4. Dana replied:

    Visit my blog I have a gift for you there.

  5. Sarah replied:

    I don’t know how you kept your cool with the wrong flowers… They look great.

    And I love that wine bar. My mom and I go there to catch up when I come home to visit.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

