DIY Bridesmaid’s Flowers

So, if you’ve been following, I’ve been going back and forth with this.

I did a trial bouquet a few months ago, basically to see if it was something I could fairly easily do–and the verdict was YES, I could AND was pretty darn good at it! (For my first try!)

Here is what I made–seriously in 10 minutes:

Please note–the real bouquets will look nothing like this. This was just to see if I was capable!!

After my trial, I went through a phase of: “Oh…I won’t feel like it, I’ll just let the florist do it” and “Oh…what if there are issues with the flowers I order…”

So after some research and determination to save $$ and take this on myself, I have settled on Rose Source as my vendor.  They are not the cheapest online vendor.  But they have gotten rave reviews from several brides and I’ve seen actual photos of their roses and they are the large, premium roses.

But what really sold me today is that when I logged onto their web site, a chat window opened and a lady, Carla, began answering all of my questions. She informed me that they sell much more than roses and more even than is listed on their web site. The customer service Carla provided sold me!

So here is what I will be using as ingredients for the girls’ bouquets:

  • 100 fuschia premium Shocking Versilia roses
  • 100 hot pink dahlias
  • 50 stems of bright green Hypericum berries
  • 50 stems of green molucella/Bells of Ireland

These will de delivered to my mom’s house on Thursday morning where we will put them into buckets and let hydrate in the cool, dark basement.  And apparently, this company’s roses COME DETHORNED which will save an incredible amount of time and work! (I kinda still am doubtful that the roses will be dethorned…but why would they lie to me??)

A friend of mine actually used Rose Source for her DIY centerpiece and I think they looked really good!  (I can call her a friend because although I “met” her on The Knot we have had dinner together!)

Check her Knot Bio out here: http://community.theknot.com/cs/ks/user/page.aspx?username=nykola Even if not for the flower photos, her bio is very inspiring.

August 8, 2008. decorations, flowers, Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

